Wednesday, January 11, 2012

Review: Hallowed (Unearthly #2) by Cynthia Hand

Source: egalley from NetGalley and Harper Collins
Publisher: Harper Collins
Release Date: January 17, 2012
Number of Pages: 416 (Hardcover)

Blurb from Goodreads:
For months part-angel Clara Gardner trained to face the raging forest fire from her visions and rescue the alluring and mysterious Christian Prescott from the blaze. But nothing could prepare her for the fateful decisions she would be forced to make that day, or the startling revelation that her purpose—the task she was put on earth to accomplish—is not as straightforward as she thought. Now, torn between her increasingly complicated feelings for Christian and her love for her boyfriend, Tucker, Clara struggles to make sense of what she was supposed to do the day of the fire. And, as she is drawn further into the world of part angels and the growing conflict between White Wings and Black Wings, Clara learns of the terrifying new reality that she must face: Someone close to her will die in a matter of months. With her future uncertain, the only thing Clara knows for sure is that the fire was just the beginning.

Described by Richelle Mead as “utterly captivating,” Unearthly received outstanding reviews, garnered accolades from New York Times bestselling authors, and was named an Indie Next Pick. In this heart-wrenching sequel, Cynthia Hand expertly captures the all-consuming joy of first love—and the agony of loss. This beautifully woven tale will appeal to fans of Lauren Kate, Becca Fitzpatrick, and Aprilynne Pike.



Just a heads up, Hallowed is a sequel so there are a few things in this review that might spoil you if you haven't read Unearthly yet. I haven't said too much though, but I'd skip to the end, and maybe only read the beginning of this review if you haven't read Unearthly yet. :) Also, I've tried to not reveal too much of what happens in Hallowed, so hopefully I won't spoil you for that one through this review. :P
---------

I absolutely loved the first book in this series, Unearthly, and it introduced me to one of the few love triangles where I really didn't want to make a decision between which guy I liked better. I know most people preferred Tucker, and while I loved Tuck, I also loved Christian. So, when I saw Hallowed on Netgalley, I requested it as fast as I possibly could, and once I started reading it...I didn't stop. Honestly, I didn't. I read Hallowed in one straight go, and it definitely isn't a short read, but it's so intense that I didn't want to put it down, nor did I want to stop...I just couldn't. I had to know what happened. So, I went to bed pretty late that....morning I guess you'd call it. I really should have started this one earlier in the day. :P

Now that you know how addictive and un-put-downable this book is, I'll let you know a bit of my thoughts. Hallowed takes place a little while after Unearthly, it isn't immediately afterwards, and you get a bit of a recap of what's happened between the two books. Basically, Clara has ignored Christian, and spent as much time with Tuck as she could. She's also tried to ignore the fact that she's "failed" at her purpose, or at least that she thinks she has. After you get that little bit of information about what's been happening the book just takes off from there.

Hallowed is full of action, and it is definitely dramatic, from the drama with the Black Wings, to family drama, to boy drama. Clara and her brother, Jeffrey, show some of their strengths, and we get to see Clara trying out even more awesome angel stuff...and we get to see more of Christian. *sigh* I know, not everyone likes him, but I do. I like his connection with Clara. I think he's funny, and he's actually so sweet, especially to Clara! I think he really shines in this book. :) I like Tucker, too, but I just don't know. For me, I don't see his relationship with Clara being able to last. Her life is so dangerous because of what she is, and she's already revealed way more than she should have to Tuck. Plus, I don't like when girls try to put their lives on hold for a guy, no matter how awesome he is. It just isn't right, and I really like that Wendy, Tucker's sister, understands that. :)

I loved Unearthly, but I think I loved Hallowed even more. Although it had some really sad moments, I loved that Clara is learning more about what she is, where she came from, and I love seeing her interact with other part angels. This book is intense, and it will definitely keep you hooked from the first page until the very last one. And when you flip that last page you are going to be wishing so hard for the next book. I know I am, and I'm so excited for the next book because this series just keeps getting better and better! :D

Have you read Unearthly yet?
Are you excited for Hallowed?
Dare I ask this...thoughts on Tucker and Christian? :P

Purchase Links:
Book Depository: UK / US
Amazon: UK / US / Canada
Barnes and Noble

Happy Reading!!!

♪♫ Ambur

8 comments:

  1. TUCKERTUCKERTUCKERTUCKERTUCKERTUCKERTUCKERTUCKERTUCKERTUCKERTUCKERTUCKERTUCKERTUCKERTUCKERTUCKERTUCKERTUCKERTUCKERTUCKERTUCKERTUCKERTUCKERTUCKERTUCKERTUCKERTUCKERTUCKERTUCKERTUCKERTUCKERTUCKERTUCKERTUCKERTUCKERTUCKERTUCKERTUCKERTUCKERTUCKERTUCKERTUCKERTUCKERTUCKERTUCKERTUCKERTUCKERTUCKERTUCKERTUCKERTUCKERTUCKERTUCKERTUCKERTUCKERTUCKERTUCKERTUCKERTUCKERTUCKER

    (that is all)

    ReplyDelete
  2. I had to skip the review part of this post because I haven't read the first book yet, but I plan to. Thanks for letting me know there would be spoilers!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Wasn't this SO GOOD?! Loved it. Also, I agree that Christian is awesome, but no no no, I am Team Tucker all the way. =b

    ReplyDelete
  4. @Priscilla TheGreat: You're welcome :) I hope you like the series when you read it. :)

    @Ashley: It so was! :D Christian is awesome, as is Tucker...and I love them both, but I'm in Christian's corner. :P I respect your choice. I like Tuck, so I can see why you're Team Tucker. :)

    ReplyDelete
  5. This review is really nice. I can tell that these are your thoughts, and I appreciate your opinion, but I like Tucker better. You make a good point though. Tucker just seems more real to me. Christian always was to-good, and I think Clara liked Tucker more. I can't wait to read hallowed, so excited!

    ReplyDelete
  6. Great review..I am reviewing this next week and cannot wait :)

    ReplyDelete
  7. You're probably one of the VERY, VERY few people whom I've met and said that they like Christian a tincy wincy bit more than Tucker without actually between them and loving both of them all the same, and for that, I just love you already. Lol. I read Unearthly, and loved Christian more than Tucker for Clare. I don't know. Christian was just an all-around good guy, and I just loved him from the very start.

    I got a hold of Hallowed just now, skimmed to the very ending (I know, bad habit), and read other people's reviews...only to be sort of disappointed. I already was thinking twice about continuing on w/ the series even before Hallowed came out because of the whole triangle thing, and I think that I'm gonna wait for the 3rd book to see if I should really catch up ('cause I've no plans of reading Hallowed just yet), and stick with the series. Lol. After reading your review, though, I might change my mind. I just want Christian and Clara! Lol. :)

    ReplyDelete

Comments are like smiles. Free to give, but precious to receive. Thank you for stopping by my blog and taking the time to comment. I treasure every one. Also, check back! You'll probably find a reply. :D